running

I Hate Running 101

Okay, here it is, “I hate running”.  Now that I have come clean about that, let me tell you why/how I am learning to love running (I never thought I would say love and running in the same sentence).  

It all started two weeks ago when I was tired of the same routine at the gym, the same faces at the gym, and the same smells at the gym (which, by the way, are not good).  I had read about a running program that seemed to make a lot of sense and at the same time gave me a bit of motivation, not like the motivation I get from our fabulous workout towels, but motivation just the same.  Karma asked me to share this program with you, because she has seen a big change in my attitude towards running since I started.  So if you have been thinking about starting to run, and don’t know exactly how to get started, this program worked for me and maybe it will work for you too.

I started the program by purchasing a Timex Ironman watch at REI.  The watch does interval timing and a lot of other cool stuff that you can read about at the link.

Day 1 ( 30 minutes): I set my watch for walk 3 minutes, run 1 minute, which made running a lot of fun.  I had plenty of energy to walk and talk and my trusty new watch beeps at me when it’s time to run and beeps again when it’s time to walk.  Now those of you who know me know that I am in much better cardio shape than a 1 minute slow jog, but remember that I have always hated running, so it wasn’t about the time it was about learning to love the running.

Day 2:  The program  suggests you just walk 30 minutes so I did, however, I found it pretty boring and way too easy (but because this is a program I stuck to it).

 Day 3:  The first day was way too easy so I changed my trusty watch to a walk 2, run 1 (and by the way, it was not a fast run, more like a slow turtle run).  I finished Day 3 and then added some mileage so I was going at least 4 miles.  I felt great!

Day 4:  Walk (plus I lift weights on my walk days).

Day 5:  Once again I sped up my program.  This time I did run 1 min 30 sec, then walk 1 min 30 seconds for the full 4 miles. Without even thinking about it I had run 25 minutes, plus a few more, because I felt so good at the end I just kept running!  I thought I was Forrest Gump!

To continue with the program you are supposed to add running to your time every 4 days and subtract time from the rest period as you feel the need.  So far I feel the need to rest 1 min 30 seconds, but my running time and speed have increased.

I now believe the key to running (for me) is the watch, because there is no looking at your wrist, no keeping track of anything, it just beeps, and you don’t have time to make excuses or walk a little farther.  For example, we live in a very hilly area so sometimes I find myself running up the hill and sometimes I find myself walking up the hill — the watch does not give me the choice to run or walk up the hill — it just depends on what interval I am on at that time.  It’s like having your own personal drill sergeant!

I also really like that you can adjust the program to fit your own needs and goals and I am happy to report that after 2 weeks I can actually see serious definition coming back to my legs and I can feel the different muscle groups working and at the end of my walk/run I am getting a serious runner’s high. 

I actually love running now because I get to do it my way.  Did I actually say, “I love running?”  Shhh don’t tell anyone.

Happy Friday!

7 thoughts on “I Hate Running 101

  1. When Dana says she hates running she really means it. That’s why I was so curious when she told me she had finally found a way to love running. I LOVE the watch and interval idea. When I first started running again (running is not easy for me) I came up with a 10-10 program: walk 10 steps, jog 10 steps (of course the amount of walking or running depends on where you are physically when you start). It was a great way to get started, however, counting the steps was a pain. The watch solves that, plus, I like how the program has you increase time, but in small increments. Love, love, love this! Thanks for sharing Dana.

    Also, I have to say that I am a bit proud of myself too. I have been working and working and working on running and lately I have been stretching the running, and if it wasn’t so hot and humid and the cicadas weren’t quite as bad, I think I might even be going farther than I am! I am excited! I am going to get a watch too and see where that gets me. Yay!

  2. Great post and I’m in complete agreement with Dana on the love, hate relationship with running… I too have an Ironman watch have been accompanying Dana on this new routine… It really works and I would recommend it to anyone who is trying to get into running regularly. I do have to say though that I think the program is working a little better for me than it is for Dana because my watch is blue and hers is girlie pink which causes her to run slower…

  3. I hope this post can help a few of you out there who struggle with running like me. Greg knows I run faster than him that is why he had to say that in his comment..haha Happy Friday!

  4. I have that love/hate too! When my feet got bad & before the Hoka shoes when I could not really run like I had been doing nor do my HIIT or intervals, I was miserable! Now with the Hoka shoes & back to running, I realize how much I missed doing it!

  5. Yeah! Way to go! We all have a love/hate relationship with running but, like the intervals that you’re on, the love/hate increases and decreases too. I hate track – but I love it – I mean hate – I mean love.
    It’s all good in the end.
    You’re right. The great thing about running is you can do what you want with it.

Comments are closed.