Meals / Meatless Monday

Who Said It?

“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”

Hint #1: This person was a great philosopher.
Hint #2: This person lived to serve others.
Hint #3: This person advocated love and non-violence.

Can you guess who it is?  Click here for the answer.

On this Meatless Monday, lessen the suffering of others by eliminating meat from your meals and “be the change”.

Why not try Zucchini Strips Baked with Thyme & Basil? 

Check out the video from the Urban Organic Gardener for instructions on how to make this luscious squash dish!


xxxxxx
And here’s the recipe:

  • 3-4 small zucchini or 2 large
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2-3 sprigs of fresh thyme or tablespoon of dried
  • 3-4 leaves of basil or tablespoon of dried
  • Tablespoon of olive oil
  • Dash of sea salt and pepper
    How to make:

  • Chop up garlic put into a small jar or dish.
  • Squeeze lemon over garlic. Let sit for a few minutes.
  • Cut up zucchini into rounds or strips.
  • Add thyme, chopped up basil, olive oil, salt and pepper to lemon garlic mixture.
  • Pour it over the zucchini to cover and toss it.
  • Put in oven at 400 for 15 minutes.
  • Flip strips and bake for another 15 minutes.
  • Remove and serve..
  • You can put this over pasta, rice, a salad or eat it on its own.

So try something new on Meatless Monday – something healthy and good for you – and something that will create good karma and peace in our world.

10 thoughts on “Who Said It?

  1. Always great meatless Mondays post! Love the quote! I can be honest & say that I most likely will never be vegetarian but I can do some meatless days! 😉 Have a great one!

  2. I thought it was always Mothers that said “Eat your Vegetables”. After all they are great philosophers, serve others all the time and most are non-violent.

    I used to hate vegies, as a kid but now love most of them. Our backdoor neighbor says she has a good soup she makes just for vegetarians when they visit, so maybe we will be able to feed Karma and Jimmy when they come here this week.

    Have a good day all. Momb

    • You are very funy Momb! You are right, mothers are great philosophers and most are typically non-violent and they do have a thing for vegetables! i thought dad might want to try the zucchini on the grill :).

  3. We know that for some giving up meat, even one day a week, is not easy, so in the spirit of understanding, I have chosen Meatless Mondays as one of the days that I go Vegan. I’ve been a vegetarian for 25 years now, but I am still working on being a vegan. Today I drank my ice coffee and ate my cereal with Almond Milk, which really was good and tasted better than the 1% milk Dana drinks! I skipped the cheese on my vege burger and I plan to eat Joe’s O’s for dinner (I’m working late at the office so it has to be something quick and easy).

  4. I never would have guessed that was Ghandi. Zucchini looks great. Sadly, that would never leave the plates in this house (unless I eat it); I’m still battling over veggies with the boys. I think I’m going to hunt for some blackbean brownies. shhh.

Comments are closed.