Inperspire / new year resolutions

Happy New Year!

a quick summary of those events:

We began the year on New Year’s Eve with a tornado in our neighborhood; I fell ill in September/October and was out sick until November (whatever it was that made me so sick – it remains undiagnosed – but was possibly a tick related disease  (yes, the insect, although I guess they’re technically a spider) really knocked me for a loop; and then my dad’s heart broke (that’s my way of saying he had a heart attack).  He is okay, but it sure put everything into perspective.

So I took a little break from our blog, but I missed it so…

Now I am ready to write again.  I thought I would write once a week in the coming year – that seems like a good and do-able goal.

I like to “theme” things, so I was thinking I could focus on a “Heart Healthy Year” and then my dad can read the articles and recipes posted here and make sure his heart remains strong…because we love him so.

I will continue writing about fitness as our wonderful friend Jody at Truth 2 Being Fit continues to do on a daily basis (thank you Jody!), and also about vegetarianism/veganism and the beautiful project called the Farm Sanctuary.

Goodness, there is SO much to write about, where do I start?

Let me start by simply saying to all our InPerspire friends, we missed you!  We hope you are doing well and are happy!

To all our friends and family, we wish you a very, very Happy New Year.  We wish you love and peace and hope that we can be a part of those wishes!

I heard this wonderful interview with Maurice Sendak on NPR yesterday.  He talks about many things, but his words about life as we age were very meaningful to me.  I thought sharing the link would be the only right and proper thing to do :).  You can listen to the interview or read the transcript.  Jimmy didn’t get to hear it so we are listening to it together tonite.

Much love,

9 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. So happy to see you back!!! Dana told me you had been ill… Yes, once a week is good & take it a day at a time. Things like what you went thru & your Dad put everything else in perspective!!! Thx for the mention too!

    Happy new year & may 2012 be a healthy one for sure!!! HUGS!

    • Hi Jody! Yay! It is so good to hear from you. I read very cute New Year’s post with the lego cartoon :). It is good to be back and thank you for the support – just reading that once a week is fine is nice to hear – your opinions mean the world to us. I can now catch up on all that you have been doing. We really missed you!

  2. I just finished listening to the NPR interview. It was absolutely beautiful. I know 2011 wasn’t the best year but I know this year is going to be awesome. My resolutions are to exercise more and be kinder to my loved ones. I’ll still be rotten to everyone else 🙂
    Smith and I have decided we’re going to try to keep each other accountable in the coming months when we need to exercise. I went for a run today and it wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I might try it again, maybe I’ll get the hang of it.
    I’m so glad you’re posting again. I’ve missed your posts very much. Love you!

    • Hey T-unit! My goodness, what a lovely post and some very excellent resolutions. You and Smith can certainly keep each other accountable – no excuses :). I am so happy to hear you went for a run. I am thinking you are pretty, pretty, pretty good at running. You can ask Jimmy for tips – he’s a good runner.

      You are right, 2012 will be a special year. I can tell. Jimmy and I are with you all the way! I am really glad you liked the interview. I cried a lot during it – I think it struck a chord with me.

    • Hi Cynthia!!!! If you only knew how wonderful it is for me to see your post. I am trying to catch up with everyone’s blog and see just what y’all have been up to! I am certain you have been running, running, running and taking care of those sweet boys. Happy New Year to you and your family. Looking forward to keeping in touch all year long 🙂

Comments are closed.