Zombies

Zombies!

Are You Fit Enough to Survive a Zombie Attack?

Those of you who know me know that I am VERY afraid of zombies.  They just scare the bejesus out of me.  But, despite my fears, and overactive imagination about zombies, I still enjoy listening to the “World War Z” audiobook (if you click on the link you can listen on YouTube), I love “Shaun of the Dead” and “Zombieland” (even though I closed my eyes when the zombies got a little out of hand (so to speak), I kind of like “The Walking Dead” series on AMC, and my friend, Jennifer, bought me a Whack-a-Zombie.

So, when I saw this post:

Five Reasons Why the Zombie Apocalypse Will Never Come to Pass

I couldn’t resist reading.  The post is by Justin Brown and it was posted on Primer.  I gotta’ say, I loved this post.  It set my mind at ease (and made me laugh), but it also got me to thinking…

If a Zombie Attack did happen am I fit enough to survive?!  Are you?

So what fitness skills would we need to escape a zombie attack?

  1. Speed.  This has to be number one, because you must be fast, or at least be able to run, to escape zombies.
  2. The ability to run long distances because you have to put some distance between you and any zombies.
  3. Agility.  The bob and weave will come in very handy when avoiding grasping zombies (just thinking about this makes me sick).
  4. Upper-body strength is also a must so you can do some damage, if needed, with a baseball bat or other handy object.

After coming up with my list, I wanted to make sure that I had not overlooked any fitness skills you or I might need, so I googled “getting fit to avoid zombies” and lo and behold look what I found:

It’s all here:  The 7 Best Exercises for Avoiding a Zombie Apocalypse

For those of you who think you may be too busy to read The 7 best Exercises for Avoiding a Zombie Apocalypse, I have excerpted what I think are the most essential skills for surviving zombie attacks. 

You can thank me later.

#1. The 400 Meter Sprint.  The need for speed is critical for escaping zombies. Ideally you should be able to sprint all out for 400 meters in less than 90 seconds, even better is 60 seconds. That should get you far enough away to hide, get to your safe spot or grab a weapon.  Work on sprints at least once a week.

#2. Speed Walking 5 Miles.  The ability to cover a long distance in a short amount of time should not be overlooked. You never know when you will have to move from hideout to hideout with your gear. Ideally you should do this carrying a backpack with at least 30 pounds of stuff in it. A weight vest is also a great substitution. Doing this in less than 45 minutes is a must. Go for a walk at least 3 times a week to build up you stamina then add the weight.

#3. Rope Climbs.  You will need to get places that zombies cannot, like tree houses and the roofs of secured buildings. The best way to do that will be with a rope so you better be able to climb up it. If you can’t climb a rope yet there is no need to panic. Start by pulling yourself off the ground from your back and then lower yourself back down again. Ideally you will eventually be able to do two 20 foot rope climbs with only your hands (not using your feet) consecutively. Work on it, it’s a great upper body exercise.

#6. Plyometric Training.   You have to be nimble to avoid zombies. Being able to jump up on and over things will be important. Box jumps, broad jumps, lateral bounding and tuck jumps will all work your legs and give you a cardio workout. Start with small boxes and obstacles until you can move up to 30” boxes and higher. Wear a weight vest to increase the difficulty.

If you aren’t strong or fast enough to avoid what I am calling a Zompocalypse, get to work today!

Have a zombie free Wednesday,

6 thoughts on “Zombies!

  1. Most days I would say bring on the Zombies, but today I am not feeling it, I think that I must have a little bug of some kind. Dr. Man is taking care of me so I should be okay soon.

    • Stop calling me Dr. Man or I am not going to nurse you back to health and I am going to stop being nice to you while you are sick! From what I saw this morning, you are definitely not up to fending off Zombies!

  2. Very thought provoking! I think I could survive for awhile but I should probably put the Zombie exercises into my daily workout..Great post, made my day!

Comments are closed.