Bob Harper

Bob Harper’s Card Workout

bob harper cardsBob Harper (my favorite trainer)has provided us with another way to get a great workout without the need for fancy gym equipment.  I saw him use the “Deck of Cards Workout” on this season of the Biggest Loser.  It looked fun and challenging – and I was right on both accounts.

Here’s how it works:
Assign an exercise to each card suit, for example:

Spades: pushups
Hearts: squats
Clubs: thrusters (combination of a squat with an overhead press – I used 5 lb dumbbells – but you can use whatever you want)
Diamonds: burpees (I am not a fan of burpees so I substituted side to side skates, but you can do whatever you want – that’s the beauty of this workout)

Once you have assigned the suits, do a short warm up and then get going!
Work through the deck as quickly as possible (no stopping) doing the number of exercises assigned on the card and according to suit.   Face cards count as 10 and Aces count as 11.  Did I tell you this will be challenging?

One word of advice
…be sure to thoroughly shuffle the deck or you will be doing a lot of the same exercise in a row (this happened to me with the push ups).
Have fun!  Work hard!