getting fit

Day 148 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

24 Hour Fitness has a great new slogan

I absolutely love this idea.  Challenge yourself a little more. Every day.  They’re not saying, go out tomorrow and run a marathon, or bike 50 miles, or even run a 5k.  They are just saying, push yourself a little more each day.  Just a little.  One more minute on the stairmill, or increase your speed and incline on the treadmill and go for 30 seconds more, or if you always stop at a certain place on your run/walk, go just a few steps farther…you can do it.

All this talk lately about 30 day challenges, and the 30 Day Shred, and challenging ourselves a little more each day, made me think, “Why don’t we challenge ourselves a little more over the weekend?”  So, I propose a Virtual Boot Camp Challenge for the next four weeks.  Here’s how it will work:

Each weekend I will throw down a challenge.  It will be something doable, because I know we all have very busy lives and have our own workout routines to complete, but it will also be asking you to challenge yourself a little more.  We will start with a small challenge and each week they will get progressively harder. 

The Viritual Boot Camp Challenge begins Friday and ends Sunday at midnight.  On Monday just let me know whether you were able to complete that week’s challenge.  At the end of the four weeks you will have the great satisfaction that you challenged yourself AND I will send you a badge for you blog/website/your progress calendar. 

This Week’s Challenge

  • 300 jumping jacks
  • 300 jump ropes (with or without a rope)
  • 100 push-ups
  • 200 sit-ups

Can I cut it?  I think KNOW I can!  How about you?


P.S.  You do not need to complete all parts of the Boot Camp Challenge at the same time, i.e., you do not need to do 300 jumping jacks in a row, you can split it up anyway you like, you just need to do 300 by the end of the challenge.

34 thoughts on “Day 148 of OUR 365 Day Odyssey

  1. Sounds like a great idea I am in. I will do a quick post about it on my blog today do you mind if I copy and paste the details??

    • Hi Erica (I Run Because…I Can)! You are welcome to copy and paste or do anything that works! I am so happy you like the idea. I was thinking maybe everyone has too much to do, but then I thought, well, at the very least, I need the challenge 🙂 I am glad to hear you are in. I am already getting excited to give it a try. I need a little jumpstart again. Hope you have a great weekend. ~Karma

  2. Hi,

    I’m in for the challenge, but I have a question. Are we working to achieve all of the exercises and reps spread out over the entire week or shooting for all in a single workout?

    Made it to the gym today. Shoulders and abs…

    • Glad to hear you’re in. I don’t think I was totally clear in the post script…sorry about that…the goal is to achieve the number of reps for each of the exercises by the end of the weekend. You can achieve the goal at one time or spread out over the weekend anyway you like. I hope that makes sense. ~Karma

  3. I think this is a great challenge! I’m in. I’ve been wanting to do a little more than just running, but have been having a hard time getting motivated… this will be a good start. P.S. I got here from Erica’s blog, thanks for letting her copy & paste!

    • Welcome to the Virtual Boot Camp Challenge! I am so glad you’re in! I am excited to hear about everyone’s accomplishments/experiences at the end of the weekend. In fact, I just wrote down the numbers of each of the exercise so I can begin keeping track for myself. Thanks for telling us where you came from, we love “I Run Because…I Can”. Erica has been so great. I’m off to check our your (Mis)Adventures now. I learn so much from other bloggers.

  4. Well, I do challenge myself each day. Wish 24 hour Fitness would acknowledge me since I am probably their oldest member! I joined in 1982 at their very first club when it was called Family Fitness! They never even acknowledged my bodybuilding contests I won.. I know, bitter! 🙂 I am mad at them because they have been SUPER BAD at maintaining the equipment in the gyms I go to!

    OK, enough of that… my mind is OFF today!

    Well, I do that many sit-ups & push-ups per week already so I guess I may have to try for the jumping jacks & the jump ropes. I do so much already so I will see what I can do! 🙂

    Just planks & stretching today….

    PS: Showing one of your towels on my Tuesday post next week…

    • 24 Hour Fitness should most definitely acknowledge your membership – your loyalty – and your age! I have found that gyms vary so much just based on management. Our 24 Hour Fitness is fantastic. They know our names, say hello and goodbye to us, fix the equipment immediately if something is broken, and it’s just generally a great place to workout.

      I was a member of Bally’s forever – I started teaching aerobics (that’s what we called it back in the day) for Bally’s in 1981-ish when it was still called Nautilus. Even after I stopped teaching in 2000ish we continued Nautilus turned Bally’s until 2009 when our gym just got too “yukky”. We tried Gold’s for a bit, but they weren’t very nice and our particular gym was dirty and not well maintained. Dana’s Gold’s, on the other hand, is awesome. It is super fancy and the locker rooms smell like eucalyptus – that’s Seattle for you 🙂

  5. Love this idea – thanks! I’ve been lazy about strength and core training since I’ve been back to working out. This will give me a good kick in the pants – or, should I say, shorts?

    • I needed a good kick in the “shorts” too 🙂 I think they say that necessity is the mother of invention — it was definitely necessary for me to get something new going so I could jump start my workouts and self again. Thanks for joining in!

    • Welcome! I understand about the soreness, one of my friends (I challenged her to do the boot camp) told me she was afraid she is not going to be able to type on Monday. What fun!

    • Erica is a force to be reckoned with – but I think we all knew that 🙂 Happy to hear your into it. I am getting ready to start my first sets of the boot camp now – wish me luck!

  6. I made it through this weekends challenge broke the workout into thirds and did a little each day except for jumping jacks ended up doing 200 today. 🙂 Can’t wait until next weekend bootcamp.

    • Hi Erica! Great job on getting the challenge done! Thanks also for telling all your great readers about the challenge. It has been so nice hearing from them and knowing that the enjoy the challenge. I can’t wait for next week 🙂

  7. I’m a little late to the game but. That’s such a good idea. I need to get my rear in gear. No time for running/cycling this weekend. But I can squeeze in push ups etc. I’m going to follow you to find out what on tap for this wkends challenge.

Comments are closed.